A landmark event fostering the exchange of ideas, practices and state of the art among academics, industry experts and professionals


“Alone we can do so little, together we can do so much” – Helen Keller, 1888 

Ever–increasing Natural Disasters

ICONHIC’s motto sounds more timely than ever, as plenty of our infrastructure systems at their present state are at high risk of not sustaining the extreme loading conditions imposed by natural disasters. The situation is exacerbated by the apparent deficiency of resources for maintenance or upgrading, while our planet is experiencing the roughest ecological disruption in its history, from climate change to biodiversity loss, and acute hazards, such as heatwaves and floods, grow in frequency and severity, while chronic hazards, such as drought and rising sea levels, intensify.

Join forces towards a resilient and sustainable future

The idea that the solution does not lie in a single discipline has already found consensus amongst the scientific community. It is of utmost importance to try to understand each other: engineers have to understand what financial experts are putting forward, technology developers need to conceptualize how the insurance industry can benefit from their novel applications, researchers should be aware of the practical needs of contractors.

ICONHIC sets the stage for engineers, researchers, cat modelers, insurers, policymakers and NGO-representatives to join forces, exchange ideas and opinions, advance scientific and technical innovations targeted at natural disasters, and ultimately converge their specialty knowledge towards a unified approach to a more sustainable and resilient future.

ICONHIC Conferences

Founded in 2016, the conference emerged in response to the ever-growing need for a landmark event that will gather together a broad field of expertise, aiming to prevent and reduce the risk of extreme natural events and their aftermaths on infrastructure. Sponsored by international industrial partners and institutions, who worked hand-in-hand with the academia to deliver an event that fosters collaboration between different stakeholders, ICONHIC2016 and ICONHIC2019 attracted a large number of attendees from all over the world, coming from exceptionally diverse technical or business backgrounds, with one overarching goal: to prepare within the constantly changing and highly uncertain environmental conditions and develop future-ready societies, able to reduce risk & manage disruption.

Following its evolution philosophy, the ICONHIC 2021 edition ventures the step forward: to build upon facilitative dialogue and strong synergies and propose an informed and realistic course of action against catastrophic natural events.

Join the discussion in Athens on 22-24 June 2021 !

Prof. George

Conference Chairman

Prof. Ioannis Anastasopoulos

Conference Co-Chairman
ETH Zurich

Steering Committee

Conference Chair
George Gazetas, National Technical University of Athens, GREECE

Conference Co-Chair
Ioannis Anastasopoulos, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Steering Committee
Tarek Abdoun, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA
Eduardo Alonso, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, SPAIN
Kalliopi Anastasiadou, BAST, GERMANY
Guillermo Franco, Marsh and McLennan, IRELAND
Roger Frank, Ecole Nationale des Ponts et Chaussées, FRANCE
Nicos Makris, Southern Methodist University, USA
Maria Mimikou, National Technical University of Athens, GREECE
Sissy Nikolaou, WSP, USA
Ton Peters, Deltares, NETHERLANDS
Kyriazis Pitilakis, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, GREECE
Alexander Puzrin, ETH Zurich, SWITZERLAND
Tizianna Rosetto, University College London, UK
Evangelos Sapountzakis, National Technical University of Athens, GREECE
David Wald, USGS, USA
Nigel Wright, Nottingham Trent University, UK
Dimitrios Zekkos, University of Berkeley, USA

Scientific Committee

(more to be announced soon)
Ioannis Antoniadis, NTUA, GREECE
Ihsan Bal, Hanzehogeschool Groningen, NETHERLANDS
Mike Brown, University of Dundee, UK
Sotirios Argyroudis, University of Surrey, UK
Shideh Dashti, University of Colorado Boulder, USA
Dina D’Ayala, UCL, UK
Aysegul Askan, METU, TURKEY
Hermann Fritz, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Raul Fuentes, University of Leeds, UK
Nikos Gerolymos, NTUA, GREECE
Boris Jeremic, UC Davis, USA
George Kampas, University of Greenwich, UK
Leon Kapetas, University of Cambridge, UK
Spyros Karamanos, University of Thessaly / University of Edinburgh, Greece / UK
Amir Kaynia, NGI, NORWAY
Riccardo Castellanza, Università degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca, ITALY
Jonathan Knappett, University of Dundee, UK
Stavroula Kontoe, Imperial College, UK
Eleni Chatzi, ETH Zurich, SWITZERLAND
Jan Laue, Lulea Univ. Technology, SWEDEN
Dimitris Lignos, EPFL, SWITZERLAND
Gopal Madabushi, Cambridge University, UK
Ross Corotis, University of Colorado Boulder, USA
Panos Dakoulas, University of Thessaly, GREECE
Dimitris Pitilakis, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, GREECE
Eleni Smyrou, Senso Engineering, NETHERLANDS
Andreas Stavridis, University at Buffalo, USA
Tetsuo Tobita, Kansai University, JAPAN
Mark Trigg, University of Leeds, UK
Michalis Vassiliou, ETH Zürich, SWITZERLAND
Anastasia Kiratzi, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, GREECE
Christos Vrettos, Technical University Kaiserslautern, GERMANY
Liam Wotherspoon, University of Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Sergio Lagomarsino, University of Genova, ITALY
Lidija Zdravkovic, Imperial College, UK
Katerina Ziotopoulou, UC Davis, USA
Nisrine Makhoul, Notre Dame University – Louaize, LEBANON
Stergios Mitoulis, University of Surrey, UK
Panikos Papadopoulos, Frederick University, CYPRUS
Costas Papazachos, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, GREECE
Francesco Silvestri, University of Naples, ITALY
Alexandros Taflanidis, University of Notre Dame, USA
Giulia Viggiani, University of Cambridge, UK
Elissavet Vintzilaiou, NTUA, GREECE
Orestis Adamidis, University of Oxford, UK
Nozomu Yoshida, Kanto Gakuin University, JAPAN
Ehsan Noroozinejad Farsangi, Graduate University of Advanced Technology, IRAN
Adda Athanasopoulos-Zekkos, UC Berkeley, USA
Felix Schroeder, GCG, UK
Feyza Cinicioglu, Özyeğin University, TURKEY
George Kouretzis, Newcastle University, AUSTRALIA